Just In: Niger, Burkina Faso and Mali pull out of ECOWAS with immediate effect

The military regimes in Mali, Burkina Faso, and Niger have announced their immediate withdrawal from the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS).

The countries made the announcement on Sunday, January 28, in a joint statement read out on Niger national television.

According to Wion News, the leaders of the three Sahel nations issued a statement saying it was a “sovereign decision” to leave the Economic Community of West African States “without delay”.

Colonel Amadou Abdramane, Niger junta spokesman, in the statement said: “After 49 years, the valiant peoples of Burkina Faso, Mali, and Niger regretfully and with great disappointment observe that the (ECOWAS) organization has drifted from the ideals of its founding fathers and the spirit of Pan-Africanism.

The organization notably failed to assist these states in their existential fi¥ht against terr%rism and insecurity.”

In September 2023, the three countries signed a mutual defence pact to assist one another against armed rebellion or external aggression.

The charter – Alliance of Sahel States – binds the countries to assist one another – including militarily should there be an att@ck against one of them.

It would be recalled that following a military coup in Niger last July, ECOWAS imposed sanctions on the country and thr£@tened military action.


Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


©2024 Instablog9ja. All rights reserved. | Powered by DEO360 Digital Solutions


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?